I Like Me Some Lychee! An Ice Cream Dream!

photo-3photoimage-1image-2

Say hello to my first attempt at vegan ice cream (it also happens to be gluten free)! Lychee is one of those fruits that sort of make me stop in my tracks and say “Oh, Mother Nature.” They look like jelly fish with their skins off, are loaded with nutrients and have such a unique flavor. Lychee is native to Southern China, Taiwan, Bangladesh and South East Asia! Its cultivation in China dates back to 2000BC – thats old. I am headed to Thailand at the end of the month so I thought I would create an inspired recipe. I don’t mean to gloat but this might the most yummy concoction ever to have come out of my kitchen (totally not bragging)! This is insanely easy to make; if your new to the kitchen, give it a shot! I decided to add watermelon and mint to the recipe to add a differnt dimension to the flavor! NOM-ing as we speak!

Benefits of Lychee

  • Contains Polyphenols– slow aging, fight cancer
  • Increase Immunity
  • Protects against Free Radicals
  • Increase Blood formation

What you need:

Ice Cream:

lychee, diced watermelon, almond milk, chia seeds, mint leaves

Garnish-

mint leaves

watermelon shell

 

Leave a Reply

