Pickling Party- Pickled Suga Snap Peas

photo-2photo-3imageSuga Peas and Carrots pickledPickled SSP

I have really rad girl friends who decided we needed to have a pickling party. We all love pickles (No, no one is pregnant, yet!) and thought it would be a beautiful vacation from the normal wine and cheese nights! We all collected every jar we had, popped a few bottles of Champaign and got down in the kitchen. Each of us did our own recipes and I choose to pickle SUGA SNAP PEAS, duh. Other choices were okra, sliced and whole cucumbers and carrots. This was my first time pickling so I made three slight variations of the same recipe adding different ingredients to the brine to see what flavor combinations my taste buds favored.

Recipe: Pickled Suga Snap Peas

What you need:

12 oz suga snap peas (I bought mine at Trader Joe’s)

1 1/2 cups vinegar (I chose White Balsamic)

1 1/2 cups cold water

1 1/4 tbsp pink Himalayan salt

3 cloves garlic sliced

1 tbsp sugar – optional

1 red jalapeno sliced – optional

1 carrot sliced – optional

pickling spices- optional

a sprig to two of fresh dill – optional

Method:

In a sauce pan heat the vinegar with the salt (and sugar if using) until dissolved. I did not use sugar in any of mine, but if you like sweet pickles, go for it. Once the brine has cooled, pack a jar or bowl full of the suga snap peas and garlic and pout the brine over it.

If you want to repeat the recipe and add any of the optional ingredients then repeat and get creative! I did one jar with just the SSP’s and garlic, a second with red jalapeno peppers, carrots and spices and a third with carrots and dill. I have to say that my favorite was the plan a simple recipe.

Pickling recipes suggest leaving it in the refrigerator for 2 weeks before eating but I couldn’t wait that long; they are just too delicious. I was digging in with 24 hours and they were marvelous!

xoxo,

SSP

P.S. I love my friends!

Leave a Reply

